Posted by: Sarah | June 29, 2010

I feel the earth move under my feet…

I arrived to my friend’s apartment in Guatemala City late last night. He showed me where the bathroom was, told me to help myself to anything I wanted in the kitchen, set up a guest bed where I could crash for a few nights.  Then, in all seriousness, he told me that before I went to bed, he needed to tell me what to do in case of an emergency.  Pretty sure I appeared puzzled.

The earth shakes all the time here.  It’s Guatemala, it happens.  If it’s just a little bit, don’t worry about it, enjoy the shaking.  We’re in a high-rise building, even after the shaking stops, you will still feel it move.  If it’s more serious, you’ll know.  Head out the door, we’ll be just a few seconds behind you. Head toward this staircase out here, that’s going to be the safest place.

Good to know. I’ve never needed to think about an earthquake evacuation route before when I’ve been a guest at any of my friend’s apartments.

Responses

  1. Hi there- I hope all is well with you… I noticed in your profile you have listed having lived in Paris… I am thinking of doing that… would you mind telling me how you went about getting a place? TIA

    Best,

    Alejandro

    • I was in Paris on a study abroad program, so my university arranged housing with host families through an exchange organization based in Paris.


Leave a Reply

Categories

