Posted by: Sarah | March 5, 2010

can you keep up?

I recognize that my running has improved the past few months.  I didn’t believe the numbers at first, and more often than not, I still don’t.  I used to be back-of-the-pack.  What happened? But I have come to grasp with the fact that I am not the super slow runner that I used to be.  I guess that’s a good thing 😉 The self-doubt of my athletic abilities has slowly given way to more confidence, which has lit a competitive spark (internally, at least) and a desire to push myself.

I am keeping up with the smaller, faster pace group on my team – comfortably, too.  After running 8 miles in 1:11 at my second TNT practice (an 8:55 pace, with the hills of Central Park and everything), it suddenly dawned on my that I could very well break the 2-hour mark in DC (a 9:09 pace), when I run the National Half in a few weeks.  Still a lot to hope for, but for the first time since I have started running, it is a realistic goal. As I brewed my coffee after my Bridges Run with Elyssa this morning and entered the run in my DailyMile log, I looked over my past several runs and realized that the last 8 runs I have logged, ranging from 2 miles to 11 miles have all been at a sub-9:00 pace. The anticipation for DC is building. I know that even if I don’t break the 2-hour barrier, a killer PR (current 2:16) is definitely within my reach.

One of the new TNT coaches who paced my group during the aforementioned practice put some crazy ideas in my head as far as my running goals. I am still not putting any official goals out there, either in the blogosphere or to my coaches, about what I want to do in San Diego, but mentally my expectations have already started to shift from when I decided to do the race just a couple months ago…

Responses

  1. I’m so happy for you! And so excited all at the same time – I think your legs are going to take you by surprise. It’s a great feeling and the confidence you have – is a huge part of getting to those big PRs. Can’t wait for San Diego – the race and oh yeah, the sunshine, zoo, etc to come after! 🙂

  2. You can easily beat 2 hours. If I can do it, you can do it, because you are faster than me! If your last 9 ‘training’ runs are all sub 9 pace, I think you will obliterate 2:00.

    Way to go in your training, and I’m looking forward to hearing about it!

  3. Yeah, those paces should make a sub 2 (and an utterly KILLER PR) very very attainable! Low-to-mid 1:50s seems reasonable. Best wishes!

  4. Yep, you will do it!!!! No doubt in my mind….

  5. […] this race.  I wanted to break the two-hour mark more than anything.  While everything about my training over the past few months indicated that this would be no problem, the self-doubt, those “I’m not a fast […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

