Posted by: Sarah | November 21, 2009

I won’t give up, I won’t give in…

Less than 24 hours to go.  The pre-race jitters have officially set in.  It goes from feeling like butterflies one minute to nausea the next, but I know that the adrenaline will kick in tomorrow morning, and I will use the nervousness to carry me through the miles.

I can’t believe that I am about to run my second marathon. How did that happen?  Running marathons scares me.  And yet, I’m voluntarily doing this again?

So many  people in my “running network” that I’ve built over the past two years, from TNT to Twitter are much more experienced runners who have 5, 10, 40 marathons under their belt, who have ventured into the worlds of triathlons and ultras.  Philly will *only* be my 2nd marathon – I feel like a baby to the sport by comparison.  But for me, knowing that by tomorrow, I will have (**hopefully**) completed two marathons is HUGE.  I completed my first marathon only six months after I began to train for long distance running, and I had a hard time believing that I had really accomplished it, that it wasn’t just a crazy dream.

And now, I am back again.

In a lot of ways, I am much more prepared for my marathon this year than I was last year.  I have trained better, I have learned from my mistakes.  I know what to expect, but in a lot of ways, that makes me more scared.  I can approach the race much more strategically, pace myself better, fiel better, but I also know just how tough it will be and how much can potentially go wrong.

Sigh.  Just like life, huh?

We learn from our mistakes, we get stronger, we’re supposed to get smarter, but maybe sometimes it was better when we were naive and didn’t really have a clue just how much it could hurt and just how much harder – mentally, if nothing else – it would be the next time around.

I am ready to take on Philly.  I know that the long road of the past year, both in running and otherwise, which has been a slightly tumultuous, disappointing, challenging one in many ways, will help me run strong for 26.2 miles tomorrow.

I am ready to push full speed ahead, channel up the advice that Ramon sent me about to course yesterday, the good luck wishes from all my running buddies.

Nick emailed me this morning, and said, “I fully expect to see photos of you posing with cheesesteaks along the way, or running up the art museum steps.  Your choice.”

I am ready to have fun.  Because, if it’s not fun, what the hell is the point of all this?

I posted this quote on my blog last year, when we ran the Philadelphia Distance Run, but it’s Philly, so it’s only appropriate that I post it once again:

“Let me tell you something you already know.  The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows.  It is a very mean and nasty place and it will beat you to you knees and keep you there permanently if you let it.  You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life.  But it ain’t how hard you hit; it’s about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward.  How much you can take, and keep moving forward.  That’s how winning is done.  Now if you know what you’re worth, then go out and get what you’re worth.  But you gotta be willing to take the hit, and not pointing fingers saying you ain’t where you are because of him, or her, or anybody.  Cowards do that and that ain’t you.  You’re better than that!”

– Rocky Balboa

…and we’re off.

Responses

  1. Sarah,

    I love the quote!!! I look forward to hearing how the marathon went for you.

    Every marathon that we can run is a gift.

  2. Sarah,

    I love the quote!!! I look forward to hearing how the marathon went for you.

  3. Lots of people blog about this matter but you wrote down really true words!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

