Posted by: Sarah | October 25, 2009

These streets will make you feel brand new, big lights will inspire you, let’s hear it for New York…

Yesterday, I raced, today, I ran.  I had a timing chip and a race number for both, but as all runners can tell you, there is a difference between the two.  It is mostly controlled by the mental, which then impacts the physical, and determines how hard you push yourself, how important those splits are, and what you want to get out of the race.

Yesterday, I wanted a 10k PR, and I wanted to beat my time for that same race that I had participated in last year.  Today, I wanted a nice relaxing run through Central Park on a beautiful, crisp autumn morning.

Yesterday, I pushed myself, I felt strong, and was excited about the time on my watch when I crossed the finish line (1:00:56).  Today, I was tired from yesterday, and didn’t really care that my pace was more than a minute slower than yesterday’s race.

Today had a different, very distinct objective.  All I needed to do was cross the finish line.  The Poland Spring Marathon Kickoff was more than just a 5 mile race through Central Park; it was so much more than that.  It was the culmination of a year of racing in this city, a year and a half of long-distance running, which would qualify me for something that I have had my sights on since I began running in New York in spring 2008.

This was the race that would clinch my guaranteed entry for the 2010 New York City Marathon.  My reward for crossing so many other finish lines this year.

From one-mile races to half-marathons, 2009 has been packed with races from Washington Heights through Central Park all the way down to Staten Island, in the hopes that I would earn a place amongst 40,000+ other runners who travel from around the world each fall to one of the most well known and well loved marathon courses in the world.

Crossing the finish line this morning, in front of Tavern on the Green, gave me the ticket to do just that next year. New York City, 2010, here I come.  Ready or not? Oh, don’t worry, I will be ready for you, New York.

IMG_0181

Responses

  1. Sarah, you will be ready for NYCM 2010 without a doubt!!! GO GIRL!!!

    Michelle/http://runningdowndreams.wordpress.com/

  2. Love the photo of the bibs and your approach to running.

    I keep trying to get into the NYCM and should be able to run it in 2010 or 2011. As someone who has never been to New York I can’t imagine a better way to see the city.

    You’re very lucky to have such an amazing playground to run in.

    All the best,

    Ron

  3. Sarah,

    That is so cool that you can do that. I would have actually had guaranteed entry this year, but life got in the way and now I have to start all over again.

    New York is such an awesome marathon. I ran it in 2003. Had a wonderful time with my family. They called it their subway marathon. Great memories.

  4. […] to consider running a full in spring or summer of 2010, rather than just limiting myself to the NYC Marathon in November. What can I say – a lot of thoughts go through your head when you are running for almost 5 […]

  5. […] NYC 2010 has been the goal since I’ve started long distance running, which means that finish line will be two and a half years in the making, and I want to be damn proud of how I run.  I learned more about my running and racing that I could possibly explain between my first and second marathons. And I really think that having another 26.2 under my belt before New York could be very beneficial. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

