Posted by: Sarah | September 9, 2009

It must be love…

For the past week, I have been glued to the US Open coverage.  Whether at home or in the gym, if there is a television, it is tuned in to whichever men’s or women’s singles match is currently taking place at Arthur Ashe Stadium.  When I am at work, one of my coworkers and I discuss the tournament nonstop.  After I downloaded the iPhone application yesterday, we spent half the evening at the restaurant refreshing the scores and betting on who was going to take each set, even though we couldn’t actually see the individual plays or how the players were handling each other.

Why am I so enthralled by this Grand Slam tournament?  I did not play on my high school or college team, and even though I enjoy hitting balls with friends occasionally, I am no tennis player.  Perhaps it is the same reason that I love football season.  Why I watched in awe as Paula Radcliffe and Kara Goucher tore up the roads during the NYC Marathon last November.  Or why I love the way that the world comes together during the Olympic Games every two years.

Sports, and especially epic competitions such as the Olympics, World Cups, Grand Slams, Major Marathons, playoffs, showcase PASSION.  Sports push humans to their ultimate LIMITS.  They test not only the physical STRENGTH, but the mental and emotional strength that people have within themselves if they really and truly want to find it.  It’s the stories like Melanie Oudin, the 17-year old from Georgia who has taken the Open by surprise with one upset after another, quickly rising through the ranks of elite female tennis players, living up to her motto BELIEVE.  It’s the Monfils-Nadal match going into the quarterfinals, where the intensity of their game from the first point has looked like they were rallying for the match point.  Sports draw something from deep within, something that is INSPIRING, something that is contagious, something called COURAGE.

Responses

  1. Sarah,

    I went to a high school cross country meet last weekend and watching the kids put it all out on the line was amazing, left me feeling so inspired.

    The last 100 meters of the 5K were thrilling to watch. The kids left nothing on the course. You could see the pain sketched on their young faces.

    Great post. I love the last sentence. It describes what transpires in sports perfectly.


Leave a Reply

Categories

