Posted by: Sarah | September 5, 2009

free your mind, and the rest will follow…

Running a Marathon scares the hell out of me.

It really does.  I’ve done it before and I’m excited to do it again, but it still scares me.  Any training run longer than 16 miles does, to be honest.

I think that the fear is a good thing, in many ways.  The Marathon deserves a certain amount of respect, which comes by intimidating, just a little, those who decide to take it on.  It forces you to set a long term goal, as this isn’t something that you will be ready for overnight.  If you don’t train well, put in the miles, dedicate yourself, respect the distance, you won’t finish.  Even if you do prepare, there are still so many unknown factors that come into play over the course of 26.2 miles.

And yet, I do it anyway.  Why?  Because now that I have started, I can’t imagine not running.  I do it for the challenge. I do it because I know that it is difficult for me.  I do it because I know that I can do so much better than the last time around.  I do it because when you run a marathon, you enter a world different from the one you normally exist in, you become a part of something bigger than yourself.

I do it because the sense of accomplishment when you cross the finish line is worth all the aches and pains.  I do it because it makes me feel more alive.

Responses

  1. I hear ya. To me, marathons (and longuer) distances are attractive to me because they are a way of life. You can’t really fake it. There’s also the excitement that comes from the unknown. On any given day, I know I can finish a 10k race within a fairly narrow range. With a distance of more than 20 miles, you can never be sure because your body migth tell you that it’s just not going to happen today. Keeps things interesting.

  2. […] can’t believe that I am about to run my second marathon. How did that happen?  Running marathons scares me.  And yet, I’m voluntarily doing this […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

