Posted by: Sarah | September 4, 2009

Are you ready for some football?

n8600435_37682312_5383

Yes, indeed, I am.  Fall is a wonderful time of the year.  Beautiful weather, my birthday, and the kick-off (no pun intended) of my favorite sports season (let’s be honest, I love running, but watching people run is not nearly as exciting as some good, ol’ fashioned football). Wisco plays Northern Illinois, and I plan to spend the evening drinking Spotted Cow, eating brats and cheese curds, singing Varsity, and hanging out with some fabulous Sconnies and Big Ten fans.

n8600435_5870422_5365

I sat at the bar of the restaurant where I work last night, with two of my girlfriends (one from Minnesota, the other from Rhode Island) and two of my guy coworkers (both European), talking about football.  Tina, the one from MN, and I chatted passionately about both Big Ten and NFL football, while Amy, the one from RI, admitted that she didn’t know anything about football.  Both of my coworkers were amazed that girls knew so much about football, and even more so when we told them that it was normal for midwestern girls to love the sport.  I know that the majority of my girlfriends from back home had an opinion about Favre signing with the Vikings and will be watching Big Ten football games this weekend as the season starts.

beingbucky

Maybe it’s just in our blood.

Responses

  1. […] balls with friends occasionally, I am no tennis player.  Perhaps it is the same reason that I love football season.  Why I watched in awe as Paula Radcliffe and Kara Goucher tore up the roads during the NYC […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

