Posted by: Sarah | August 20, 2009

tal cual es…

Things have a way of working themselves out.  For a combination of reasons, I decided recently against running the Nike Women’s Marathon in San Fran this October, where I had hoped to make a repeat experience.  Although disappointed, it wasn’t meant to be.  I rearranged my race plans, resigned myself to the fact that there would be no Tiffany’s finisher necklace this year, and knew that it was the best decision.

As fate or luck or purely good timing would have it, I found out tonight that one of my dearest friends in the world, who lives on the opposite side of the world and whom I have not seen in nearly three years, will be in New York City the exact duration of when I would have been out in Cali had I still been running that race.  Grace will be here for 5 days checking out potential biz-school programs.  I am giddy with excitement about the reunions that await us, and the chance that she will be coming out here for grad school.  We have not seen each other since I visited Madison midway through my traineeship in Colombia.  There are some friendships that stand the test of time, no matter what, and that is a glorious thing.

Brats

Leave a Reply

Categories

