Posted by: Sarah | November 5, 2008

YES WE CAN

Ladies and gentlemen, we made history this evening.  

I have never been so proud to be an American, to live in the greatest city, the greatest country on Earth.  I am so proud to see my country wake up and take a stand for what they believe in, to make their opinions heard.  I am proud of my country for proving that we can see past racial barriers that once blinded us.  I am proud of my generation for tearing down the stereotypes that called our age demographic apathetic and uninvolved with politics.  I am proud that we did not give up faith in the strength and potential that we have as a country. 

The sense of HOPE that maybe, just maybe, we could make this change happen grew with each state that was painted blue tonight.  I had butterflies in my stomach, not from the beer, but from the excitement as I looked around the bar and saw every person around me holding their breath and then cheering with each additional victory, as it became clear that we would not go home disappointed.  The countdown to the moment when the West Coast polls closed contained more anticipation and promise of a new beginning than any New Years countdown I have ever experienced.  People were dancing in the streets, shouting from the rooftops.  Thousands crowded in Union Square and sang our national anthem.

One of my best friends, Alex, had attended the Obama rally in Berlin earlier this year.  I remember her telling me about one banner that had stuck with me.  The World is Waiting to Love America Again.  That moment has arrived.

America, we’ve made the first step in the right direction.  This is just the beginning.  Now it’s time to make that change that we have all declared tonight that we want.  Let’s make this happen.  

“If there is anyone out there who still doubts that America is a place where all things are possible, who still wonders if the dream of our founders is alive in our time, who still questions the power of our democracy, tonight is your answer”

 – President-elect Obama
Leave a Reply

Categories

