Posted by: Sarah | July 3, 2008

Operacion Jaque. CHECKMATE.

The news unfolded before my eyes and I couldn’t stop the tears from falling.  I watched the live address by French president, Nicolas Sarkozy, which I randomly caught as I flipped through the channels, as he announced, ce soir, Ingrid Betancourt est libre et en bonne sante sur une base de l’armee colombienne.  Je voudrais d’abord remercier le president Uribe, les authorites Colombiens, et l’armee Colombienne. Que le president Uribe recoive la gratitude de l’ensemble de la peuple francaise.

I heard it in slow motion.  Ingrid Betancourt.  FREE.  Without a single shot fired.  After six years in captivity.  
 
I turned my laptop on and every single major news source was broadcasting the breaking news.  15 of the most high-profile hostages being held by the FARC – including former presidential hopeful Ingrid Betancourt and three Americans – were just RELEASED.   

I instantly messaged Tiffany to make sure that I wasn’t dreaming this.  She confirmed what I had heard was true.  Bogota is already celebrating.  I am still in shock.  This is incredible.  A miracle.  

I can’t help but think about everything that has occurred in the past six months.  This is the third time that I have literally not been able to tear myself away from the story as it unfolds – from the international peace protest, to the death of three of FARC’s main leaders, and now this.  

Please, please tell me this is happening because I still shaking all over with the possibility that peace is in Colombia’s immediate future.

In the words of Ingrid Betancourt, “creo que esta es una senal de paz”.

Responses

  1. yeah yeah yeah!


Leave a Reply

Categories

