Posted by: Sarah | June 30, 2008

makes me that much stronger, makes me work a little bit harder, makes me that much wiser….

Waking up at 630 am every Saturday doesn’t feel quite as ludicrous as it did a month ago.  I’ve reached the point in training where every long run is the longest that I’ve ever run.  6.6 miles yesterday was easier than our first 2 mi run.  Adding on the miles feels natural.  I’m starting to believe that this marathon really is within my grasp.
 
Night or day, it’s amazing how many people are running, walking, biking, rollerblading in Central Park; there are times when it seems as if the entire city is training alongside me.  Two of my teammates and I mused about this over coffee this evening.  Does the nature of the city attract people who are more active and used to a fast paced life?  Maybe the tranquility of Central Park offers a repose from the hustle and bustle of hedge funds and Wall Street?  New York offers so many intramural sports leagues and running groups, countless parks and running paths that it’s almost impossible not to be drawn in.  For better or worse, New York is a city where IMAGE is influential.  Each runner, each athlete has his own reason, his own motivation, his own story, but each is drawn out to the same roads and paths converge.  A sense of community is formed.  
 
New York is turning me into the athlete that I never really was.  And I love it.

…so thanks for making me a fighter.

Leave a Reply

Categories

