Posted by: Sarah | May 7, 2008

When everything’s made to be broken, I just want you to know who I am…

Picking up with the gringos right where we left off has been one of the best parts of this vacation. My Paris girls and I always talked about how it would never be the same to go back to Paris without the same people there to go to “our” places together. Exactly the opposite is true of Colombia. Time stopped and my life here was waiting for me to slip right back into it. With only a few notable exceptions, everyone is still here, life goes on as it always has. I know it won’t stay like this forever, but it will take more than a year for things to fade away completely.

I often fear that living abroad will turn into a dream once I return home and I will forget too many of the little parts of the experience that mattered the most. I am asked about Colombia on almost a daily basis, but usually need to sum it up with an overall generalization about what I great experience I had, what a beautiful country it is, how amazing the people are. Coming back here has reminded me of all the little nuances of the city and the culture – good and bad – that took a year to comprehend and to cement the bond that I have with this country. The memories weren’t tucked away quite as far as I had feared.

Off to Bogota, where more amazing people await me, more priceless memories promise to be made…because it’s Bogota, where everything has always begun and ended. Colombia needs to learn the beauty of low-cost airfare. My ticket from Barranquilla-Bogota cost as much as NYC-Chicago. This country is getting more and more expensive.

Feel the beat of the rhythm of the night
Dance until the morning light
Forget about the worries on your mind
You can leave them all behind
Feel the beat of the rhythm of the night…

Leave a Reply

Categories

