Posted by: Sarah | February 21, 2008

We’re fools whether we dance or not, so we might as well dance…

“Bringing your friends with you to a new dance class can be a good thing. But it can also be a bad thing. A very bad thing. You will inevitably look superior and self-confident and make them feel inferior to you. Your friends walk into this room with a bunch of people who don’t know each other, all wearing similar clothes, the music starts pumping, and everyone bursts out in these crazy choreographed moves. They have an underlying 6th sense that allows their heart to beat in rhythm, their body to hit the moves in sync with those around them. If your friends aren’t normal gym-kinds of people this will be a traumatizing experience for them. They will think they are fucked. And they will hate you forever. So it’s crucial that you screen your friends before you bring them with you. And if your friends are awesome enough to cut it, then they will love you forever.”

– My hip hop teacher. I wonder if he has ever been to an @ conference.

Responses

  1. sure does seem like it.

  2. you’re taking hip hop classes?!?! I’m soooo jealous.

  3. I thought I was reading about @ dances at first…

  4. My parents have been hating on AIESEC since I joined because they think its a cult-ish black hole that is taking too much time away from my studies- I just sent that quote to them and told them to think about “dance class” as a metaphor for life to explain why I love AIESEC. I think it got the point across 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

