Posted by: Sarah | February 15, 2008

I’ll take you down the only road I’ve ever been down….

When paths diverge in life, in so many ways, it’s reassuring to know that there are some connections you can count on to remain strong, in spite of the time and distance. A comfortable reminder of the past that was once home, that will never again be home, but that is familiar all the same.

The direction that I have chosen is one I have never regretted. I could not imagine ‘settling’ or living the life that most would consider ‘mainstream’. I have long preferred the unexpected, the constantly changing, always being on the move.

My friends keep me grounded, inspire me, have helped me grow into the person who I am today. Relationships are easy to maintain when you live in the same dorm, meet in the library for late night study sessions, can walk to the same bar for FAC after a long week of class. When you choose to make ‘home’ a fluid concept, maintaining true relationships across this type of existence is a constant challenge, one that invariably demands effort.

It may not seem possible that life in New York can become mundane, but it does. Regardless of where I live, I crave the frequent, spontaneous escape. Will that ever change? I know not. As long as my friends are spread around the world, I doubt it.

To travel for the sake of traveling, to cross countries, borders, for the sake of sharing a drink with someone who means a lot to me, sharing a conversation that will last for hours, challenge me, and make me feel like ‘me’ again. Several reunions are in order.

Responses

  1. oh, the life of a nomad 🙂

  2. It is clear that new york adventures are in order!


Leave a Reply

Categories

