Posted by: Sarah | January 21, 2008

Let’s rearrange, I wish you were a stranger I could disengage…

I stopped to listen to the snow this weekend. Six hours west of the city, I felt closer to Wisconsin than New York. The stress melted away with the first snowball that I packed between my gloves. We hesitantly stepped out onto the frozen lake, our laughter slicing through the wind. I had not left the city in over two months, which may as well have been two years, as the weeks blend together, often with little to distinguish one from the next. I have longed for my Caribbean winters, without realizing the magic of snowy winters up north that had been absent for so long.

Conversations about everything and nothing, team bonding that had nothing to do with work and everything to do with the best coworkers in the world. Peppermint hot chocolate after snowmobiling, snow angels, wine. Home cooked dinners, s’mores in the microwave. Holding my breath into overtime, crying after a disappointing loss, laughing at the irony of finding out later that I will be flying during the entire game two Sundays from now. Blasting Britney, Alicia, and REM in the mini-van over and over and over. More pictures than we can possibly count.

2008 has brought many thoughts of a new beginning, although I have not yet been able to articulate what I want from that fresh start. I need motivation, an incentive, but I can’t figure out what the end goal is that I am reaching for. My ideas seem less clearly defined, my objectives fuzzy. Am I still lost in the blizzard of Chataqua?

Responses

  1. you’re flying on the 3rd? I’ll be flying that sunday too! I’m goin to Tunisia, where are YOU going?
    😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

