Posted by: Sarah | June 20, 2007

La locura automatica…

Medellin.

Springtime.

I wear my skirts shorter and my hair curly.

I can’t seem to escape the frustration that surrounds me, but I left behind some of the stress in Bogota.

Estoy contenta.


The sun shines through the window, there is something different in the air here. Somehow I understand so clearly why paisas claim that Bogota is too cold…in more ways than just the temperature.

If I were from Medellin, I would claim bragging rights as well.

Welcoming “my” Social Entrepreneurship trainees over the past week has been surreal, adding a deeper level of impact than that which AIESEC has already given me several times over, a sense of accomplishment that I have no words to describe. In spite of everything, being in Colombia for their arrival has been priceless.

I am so excited for them to make their own discoveries, create their own memories.

I feel a sense of bittersweet jealousy as well, knowing that they are about to embark on the journey of a lifetime, one that has changed me over the past year and is coming to a close.

I left the coast exactly a month ago, and I have lost count at how many times I have questioned whether or not I am making a mistake, holding out for so long, passing up other – possibly more sensible/responsible – opportunities, for something that I want so much, yet has been delayed for so long. I am scared of the disappointment that could potentially come my way….but the longer that I wait, the more than I invest into this process, the more that I know that it’s right, that this next challenge is what I want, what I need, where I can make the most difference…for myself, for others, for AIESEC.

I follow my heart, I have made some of the most important decisions in my life based on passion, not practicality…why change now?

Responses

  1. so beautiful, sarah! I admire your ability to follow your passions no matter how difficult it can be at times… I’m so excited for your job in New York as well! besos de brasil!


Leave a Reply

Categories

