Posted by: Sarah | September 24, 2006

Bogota, birthdays, and bouncing around



Semana universitaria was nearly a no-go for as many times as my travel plans fell through, but in the end Bogota ended up being the perfect destination.

The cosmopolitan capital of Colombia falls in the valley of one of the three mountain ranges that cuts across the heart of the country. 18 hours by bus, it is a world away from the coastal city of Barranquilla. Although I had visited before, the city had never quite drawn me in as it did last week. I arrived late Wednesday afternoon, which was the perfect time to catch up with Tiffany and Arnie over drinks. Since Sarah wasn’t arriving until late Thursday evening, I had the whole day to wander around and explore El Centro. The hours of roaming up and down tiny streets, stumbling upon historical plazas, browsing in and out of artisan shops, and people watching in cafes made the day stretch on forever.

The weekend was a perfect combination of “me time” which I find hard to come by in Barranquilla and time spent with great friends. I spent my first night with AIESEC’ers from AXLDS, and Sarah and I partied like rockstars with Moni and Vivi who I was lucky enough to catch up with after not having seen them since Buenos Aires earlier this summer.

I am constantly amazed by how artisitic cities can be, in even the subtlest of ways, and Bogota was no disappointment in that regard. I can spend hours getting lost in a museum, parks and cafes reveal the most diverse crowd of people in every size, shape, and color, street corners are adorned with random sculptures. One of the most impressive images that I held with me from the first time that I visited Bogota was the COLOR. Everywhere. It is one of the most vibrantly colorful cities I have ever seen. Maybe that is to compensate for the dreary weather that hangs around most of the year. Or maybe it is just another shade of the Colombian culture that has caught my eye.

This past week, I celebrated my first birthday “away from home”. Even though I wasn’t with any of my family or friends, I realized that I was at home and that I was surrounded by friends. Every single person here made the past four crazy days and crazier nights of celebrating priceless. I realize every day how happy I am with my life here. There is nothing like the daily adventures of living in another country to make every moment of your life seem like a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

The nomad-esque lifestyle struck once again this past weekend, as I moved to a new “home” for the third time in just over two months. My living situation since I have arrived has been less than ideal, to say the least. While I do not know how long I will be able to stay here, it is the right decision for me, for right now. I would like to say that this will be the last move of the year, although I have a feeling that may not be the case. In the meantime, I can not even begin to explain how much it means to finally be living with some of my closest friends instead of in a place where I had never really felt welcome or at home. Warning to all: the three of us may be a troublesome combination. Let the good times roll. 🙂

Responses

  1. Hook me up with one of your beautiful baby friends. Luv.

  2. Living situations are rough. I am struggling a bit now too. I’m glad things are at least looking up for you for now. –It makes me hopeful.

    Your photos are gorgeous!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

