Posted by: Sarah | August 23, 2006

an inspiration, a reminder, a reason, a reward…

Think Globally, Act Locally

– Tanja

Sometimes we need a reminder of why we do the things we do, of what drives us, of what our passions are. Sometimes we look around, confused, and wonder how we got to where we are. Sometimes we stop to question why we chose the road less traveled when there could have been countless easier options.

The past several weeks have not been easy. In fact, they have been pretty tough. At times, frustrating, lonely, exhausting, annoying, confusing…

REWARDING

Despite all of the tough times that I have been through, this experience has already been so rich and I know that over the next several months, I will continue to take so much out of it. It won’t necessarily get easier, but I didn’t come here for it to be the easy way out. I came for the challenge. I came to question and be questioned.

I had no expectations other than to grow stronger from the journey. I have gotten much more than I bargained for.

Tanja sent out an email this morning that was simple, but powerful. Think globally, act locally. Why am I doing this? Because I believe in the beauty of discovering new cultures. I believe in going beyond people’s expectations of what I can achieve. I believe in each and every one of my friends, who I miss more than anything in the world, but who are all so unbelievably inspiring and continue to motivate and push me everyday even when I am thousands of miles away from them. I believe in Colombia. I believe in defeating assumptions and judgements that do not reflect reality. I believe that if I can impact one person, I have succeeded. I believe in the mission of AIESEC.

Responses

  1. sarita! when are you coming to BA?? aaaand you´ll still be in Colombia in June, right?? I want to come then! can´t wait and hope all is well in barrrrrranquillllllla

    BESOTE


Leave a Reply

Categories

